Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,846   Posts: 1,582,728   Online: 893

Shooter
    Multi Format

Farmers reducer for base fog?

Hi,
    Just curious, could I use Kodak's farmer's reducer to reduce the base fog of older film? It seems like it should do the trick, but I've never used it before. I have some tech pan that has been in the freezer since 1986 that I would like to use.

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    If you get an image, just print through. If you use Farmers or plain ferricyanide you'll loose your low zone detail with the fog.
    There is no such thing as taking too much time, because your soul is in that picture. -Ruth Bernhard

Shooter
    Multi Format
    ok, thanks. How about Edwals fog reducer? Or will that do the same?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Actually, the film might be just fine, especially if frozen. Low ISO films, like Tech Pan, age very slowly when frozen. Shoot it first before defogging.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Just print through, you'll be fine.
    For prints sales, workshops and individual lessons,
    please, check my website

My APUG Portfolio
    http://www.apug.org/forums/portfolios.php?u=196<p>

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Images
    FR would do the trick, but at the risk of ruining the negs if not done evenly...or if it is over-done, you'll remove your shadow detail. A very light touch is needed. You will want to do it in trays with the film cut in strips -- not rolled up in a tank where you can't see what is happening. Watch out for scratching the negs, of course. Start with a strip of negs that is the least important and judge the results after re-fixing before doing the next strip.