Switch to English Language Passer en langue franšaise Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 75,244   Posts: 1,660,159   Online: 680

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

An Idiot's Guide to Lith....

Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere, however......

Despite having been a keen photographer for the past 30-odd years and also having had my own darkroom, I've never really delved into the world of lith printing. Conversely, I have seen some examples of lith prints which I think look stunning.

As a total novice to this particular facet of the photographic arts, could someone please explain:
    1. Do any subjects lend themselves to this style of photography?
    2. Is contrast an issue - i.e. is it better to shoot on a sunny or overcast day?
    3. Are any films particularly suited to this style of printing?

I might (only might) start to develop my own film soon. If so, which (if any) chemicals give the best negatives from which to produce lith prints? Also, are there any good labs in London, Essex or Hertfordshire that you would trust to produce lith prints?

Apologies if these seem naive questions but I'm really starting from scratch on this subject. If possible, please don't bombard me with the technical complexities as it's highly unlikely I'll ever do any lith printing myself. All I want to do is give myself a better than evens chance of producing a negative from which a good lab could produce one for me.

Thanks in advance....
    Paul Jenkin (a late developer...)

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Paul,

you'll find that lith printing is particularly well suited to contrast control. Any film that will do well for standard printing will do, but usually you get the most interesting results with lith if you develop your film to higher contrast than normal. You can do that with any film by just developing longer.