Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,224   Posts: 1,532,613   Online: 904

Thread: Negative curl

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Negative curl

I'm a bit new to developing my own film and have a couple of questions. I've made sure the temps and timing were correct, but my negatives seem to have a bit to much curl to them. Once they are cut and put in covers I can put something heavy on them and they will flatten out a bit. I don't have a glass negative holder for my enlarger for 6X6 and need them to be as flat as possible. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

Shooter
    Plastic Cameras
    Images
    Hello, what enlarger do you have? It would be best to get a glass negative holder. Also, for some negative holders, you can get a piece of Anti-Newton Ring glass, such as from a Gepe 6x7 slide mount, smooth the edges with sandpaper, and fasten the glass to the upper part of the negative carrier, inside to flatten the negative. Another idea is to make your own negative carrier out of two pieces of glass, hinged with tape. Watch out for Newton rings, though.

Jon
    Mendocino Coast Black and White Photography: www.jonshiu.com

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Can someone explain Newton Rings to me, what causes them, what prevents them?
    WYSIWYG - At least that's my goal.

Portfolio-http://apug.org/forums/portfolios.php?u=25518

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newton%27s_rings

An issue with glass carriers that shows up sky and other uniform density parts of a scene.

TR
    D-76 is a standard developer, although not one I use.
    Ansel Adams - The Negative

Shooter
    4x5 Format