Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,301   Posts: 1,536,154   Online: 824

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

looking to buy a dark room set

I am really new to film photography, someone is selling a darkroom set on craigslist, but since I have not much idea about brands, models, quality of things related to darkroom equipment etc... I was wondering if any of you could give me some advice about this darkroom package.

1.- is this set good for a newbie like me?
    2.- does it contain the basics to start developing and printing on my own?

Thanks in advance, here is the link to his post:

http://newyork.craigslist.org/brk/pho/979620574.html

That looks like a great setup. You probably can flesh out the remaining things you will need for a reasonably small amount of money. (There is always something else you need . . .)

Peter Gomena

Shooter
    Medium Format
    That's a pretty complete setup. Like Peter said, there may be a few odds and ends you will still need, but that is a pretty good one. Good lenses, good enlarger, and good easel. Make him an offer.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    thank you guys for the quick response and help. So the set will work and is not something really old etc... My other wonder is that I just realized I have no way to test if the enlarger is in good order, will work, is it broken?. I guess I am up to my own luck with that one?

Images
    Good Afternoon, Jaime,

I agree with the other comments. The items are standard, good-quality stuff. Check the lenses for clarity and proper aperture function. Check the enlarger for any obvious damage or missing parts; the picture is too small to be sure, but I see no visible problems. Enlargers are rather simple things, and most defects are not hard to spot. If you can get the entire set-up for a few hundred dollars, you should be OK.