Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,721   Posts: 1,514,948   Online: 1122

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Large Format

B&W Negs on Color paper

I read alot of "Can you print color negs on B&W paper?" My question is, has anybody tryed B&W negs on color paper and can you develope color paper in B&W chemicals. Reason for thought is color paper right now is very cheap. Espectially the larger sizes and long roles. Just a thought
    Leslie D. Wall
    AKA DeBone75

Shooter
    Med. Format RF
    You can develop color paper in b&w chems but what you get is very different story. I've done that as a step in reversal processing and the silver image on both Kodak Supra III and Supra Endura was faint even when heavily overexposed. I'm not an expert but I guess there is not enough silver to form a decent image.

As for printing b&w neg on color paper I'm planning to try it. It might be fun but I don't think it's a way of saving money.
    The caveats are contrast control - I know of no easy way to do it and you need get the filtration right and stable developer temperature if you want to have repeatable color tone.

Shooter
    35mm
    The short answer is yes. My local mini-lab does it all the time. Most mini-labs are set up for colour neg but if you take in an already developed B&W film they can produce quite good prints in colour print chems. They never look as neutral as those done in B&W print chems and the "colour" varies. The ones I have seen have a slight green look to them but most customers, especially those who have never seen proper B&W prints on B&W paper, don't seem to have a problem.

To be fair if I had never done my own B&W prints and was happy with holiday type snaps, I would probably be happy as well.

pentaxuser

Shooter
    Large Format
    "The ones I have seen have a slight green look to them "