Switch to English Language Passer en langue franšaise Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,550   Posts: 1,573,071   Online: 811

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm
    Images

Developing time preference

Ok I admit I am new to this so not really sure of the answer. Is it or when is it better to develop slower rather than faster. If I use D76 stock the time would be faster/sooner than longer than if I was using a 1:1 dilurion. I use a generic D76 solution and just wondering. Yup I also understand that since I am doing film, whats the hurry, just relax.

Thanks
    Rick
    Long Beach CA

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    I suppose the question is what else besides time will be affected by diluting D76?
    Chris Saganich
    http://www.imagebrooklyn.com

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Me thinks Saganich has asked the real question here....

Shooter
    Medium Format
    I think a few test rolls are in order, see the difference for your self.

Shooter
    35mm
    Faster development times give much less margin for error, and make minor adjustments nearly impossible.

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    Sooo Jason, if I use a diluted solution, does this mean that I do not have to be as exact on my process time. When I say exact I mean a 5 seconds either way. The charts and books say XX.X time and not a +-. I know it will all come in time. Heck the last time I spent this much time doing film was back in the early 70's.. if I remember correct!

Shooter
    35mm
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick-in-LB View Post
    Sooo Jason, if I use a diluted solution, does this mean that I do not have to be as exact on my process time. When I say exact I mean a 5 seconds either way. The charts and books say XX.X time and not a +-. I know it will all come in time. Heck the last time I spent this much time doing film was back in the early 70's.. if I remember correct!