Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,959   Posts: 1,523,043   Online: 1216

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Tri-X in HC-110 / using "dilution H" in a small tank

Hello,

Thank you for a great forum, so much great info!

I'm a complete beginner in this field, but I'll be developing my first roll of film in a few days, and have been researching online a lot, and taking advice from the people in my local photo store.

At the store they convinced me that Tri-X and HC-110 would be the way to go, especially since I am going to be shooting some musical perfomances in low light, and need to be able to push if needed.

During my research I stumbled upon something called "dilution H" http://www.covingtoninnovations.com/hc110/
    On this page it also says that I need to use at least 6ml of concentrate per roll. My tank only holds 290ml, and Dilution H for a 290ml tank would only contain 4.5ml of concentrate.

Here is the question; Does that mean I'll never be able to use that dilution in this tank, or will the results be unpredictable, or what?

If this has already been discussed, I am sorry, I couldn't find it anywhere in the forums.

Best wishes,
    Emil

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    You might not reach full development, and that would be a shame. Question is, why not just start with dilution B until you've got a good handle on that? Consider also if you are intending to push, you need to extend your times, so why make things extra long with H? Just something to consider. BTW, I really like Tri-X in HC-110, it's a great well-tempered combination.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    David has a good point. You should also do a test roll of this combo before you go shoot something important.

More info:http://www.covingtoninnovations.com/hc110/

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images