Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,770   Posts: 1,516,509   Online: 768

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I'm going away for a longish break to somewhere hot and sunny right after Christmas. I will be bringing, perhaps ill-advisedly, a couple of rolls of film I've never tried before - most of my BW film experience has been with Fuji Neopan Acros as well Agfa Scala slide film. The new films I'm trying out are:

1) Ilford FP4 ISO 125
    2) Ilford Pan 50

Can anyone enlighten me as to the characteristics of these films? I.e how are they for high-contrast situations, what is the grain like, etc etc?

Thanks in advance!
    Jin

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Jin, my favourite film is FP4. It is very fine-grained and very easy to use. It is also very forgiving.
    I develop it in D76 1+1, 9,5 minutes, 20°C.

Good luck and have a good holiday!
    Anne Marieke

Shooter
    Medium Format
    I also like FP4. I rate it at 100 and develop it in D-76 1+1 for 9 min 20*c. Pan F is nice, and from what little experience I do have with it, can tell it can be pretty contrasty.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Thanks for the tips!

I haven't got any darkroom experience yet - something I've got to learn next year, once I get the initial set-up sorted - but then I'll be playing with test rolls and not my holiday shots. I hope an average minilab will do a reasonable job with these.

Shooter
    35mm
    An 'average' UK minilab isn't going to have a clue what to do with FP4 and Ilford Pan - though if your minilab can cope with Neopan Acros they are well above average, and should be OK!

my local minilab struggles with C41 :o

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images