Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,898   Posts: 1,584,346   Online: 784

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

Densitometer + Dektol 1:9 + ERA 100 + Step Tablet

What could these things possibly have in common? Me.

I'm working through my first ... er.. attempt at using my densitometer (xrite 810) to get "perfect" development times.

Here is where things take a left hand turn:

I'm using Dektol. 1:9

I'm also using an unknown film (ERA 100) - which, despite any fears I may have about their QC, I'm quite certain that there is less variation in THEIR process than in my own.. so if there ever were to be something wrong, I'd suspect myself first. (even though I'm a fairly meticulous lab tech)

So... using a film + developer combo that is essentially "unknown" pushed me to pick up a densitometer.

NOW. . . I had some issues copying the densitometer in camera (the light behind the tablet, even though being bounced from a diffuse white surface {card}, was not even. So, the steps are meaningless b/c the light seen through them is not constant)

I've decided to try exposing the film to the Stouffer 21 step tablet in a contact print frame.

I'll be putting a lens with a copal 1 shutter in the enlarger head, and metering the exposure via .. .

Yeah.. via....

That is where my questions are.

how the hell do I meter this situation?

Do I spot meter the step 10 (let's say, I put the tablet on a white card, spot meter step 10?)

Do I take an ambient reading just above the contact frame? (I'd raise the enlarger head all the way up to give me the best chance of getting a reading where the thickness of the meter itself does not significantly change the distance of the film/light source when compared to the point metered/light source)

Do I put the spot meter lens under step 10 and point it at the lens??

er..

yeah. What?