Switch to English Language Passer en langue franšaise Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,814   Posts: 1,581,613   Online: 802

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Fotospeed LD20, why good?

Hi!

As one of few lith developers available, the Fotospeed LD20 is of course a potential choice for lith lovers. But, is it really any good? Not only a case of well-known brand with a strategic PR approach?

┤Cause, I really can┤t get it work. Poor blacks, short durability, yellowyellowyellow colors and very few copies at optimum window. On top I manage to get four maybe up to six decent copies in a session. And I mean "decent" ┤cause I cannot put any of them on my leader board. It shouldn┤t be demand for continuous replenishment already at an early stage I hope.

Why? Well, I am not a newbie and as a perfectionist I┤ve tried A LOT of different material AND different settings, parameters and variables. It gives poor result for me. Period!
    From my point of view, even Moersch Easy Lith eliminate the competition. With ease. Rollei Creative (Maco LP Superlith) as well and of course also the SE5 Lith from Moersch.

Any of you with a similar experience? Might there be an incorrect handling I perform giving the poor results after all?
    When switching from LD20 after a frustrated session, I always get great results from other lith developers. At the very same day. With the same negs. With the same type of papers. In the same room. With the same water. Don┤t get it. Please advise!

Thanks!

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    You are gonna hate this, but. . . before giving up on it, go back to square one. 25ml A + 25ml B + 25ml 10% KBr in a liter. Make some fresh old brown.

It can be frustrating, but there is a reason it is not working for you.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    What's your dilution with LD20? Are you diluting as the box tells you? If so, I'd bet that's your problem.

Shooter