Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,928   Posts: 1,522,160   Online: 1032

View Poll Results: Fav pinhole film

Voters
11. You may not vote on this poll
  • Pan F @ 50iso

2 18.18%
  • FP4+ @ 100iso

1 9.09%
  • Fuji Across @ 100iso

4 36.36%
  • other (let me know)

4 36.36%
Multiple Choice Poll.
    Shooter
    35mm

neopan 400 vs FP4+

Ok, so i am a complete darkroom noob! I used to do a lot of darkroom work, aprox 2 rols/day. But that was about 3 years ago and im a little lost.

So i just got a holga wpc pinhole panoramic, First 3 rolls i put through it turned out not too bad, a little over exposed. These shots were aprox 6-8 second exposures during mid day bright sun.
    test 1
    Test 2
    Test 3

Now im lookin to throw some Neopan 400 in there and i really dont want to waste it. Im developing in stock perceptol.

Also wondering what everyones thoughts are on pulling FP4+ to 50 ISO?

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    I use PanF, partly because I was able to get a bunch of rolls cheaply. To my eyes it's got a distinctive smooth tonality that complements the "dreamy" feel of pinhole photos. If you're doing a lot of exposures in bright sunlight, you really don't want a fast film since the shorter exposures are harder to control, but this may not be an issue on the Holga pinhole camera. I don't have the WPC, so I'm not sure how easy it is to control short exposures. Furthermore, you may actually want long exposures to show the passage of time (motion blur), so a slow film may be just what you need.

On the other hand, if you're trying to do pinhole exposures in full shade or inside a building and don't want your exposure times to exceed a few minutes, then a faster film might be the way to go. I even bought a few rolls of Delta 3200 to experiment with low-light pinhole photography, but haven't had a chance to try it out yet.