Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,283   Posts: 1,535,024   Online: 1069

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format

Vertical lines in B&W 120 negatives

So this is my first post and I'm relatively new to developing B&W film. Thanks to Jason Brunner for getting me started. I've used the search function but I don't think I've found one that describes the same problem that I am having. My negatives have very thin vertical (top to bottom) parallel lines that seem consistent throughout the whole negative including the sections in between shots that should not have been exposed to light.
    The lines are always grey and in very light areas such as the daytime sky the lines appear darker than the actual image, while in very dark areas the lines appear lighter than the actual image. It happens regardless of shutter speed or aperture.

I shoot using a Rolleiflex T purchased from one previous owner using Kodak T-Max 400 120 film.

I use a Patterson plastic tank and reel, load the film in a dark bag and develop my film as follows, all at 22°C (71.6°F), all solutions prepared using tap water. I use 600mls which is more than enough to completely immerse the film but does not completely fill the tank. I invert in a figure '8' and twist the tank each time to ensure consistent development.

Pre-soak - tap water, 3 mins - tap to ensure no bubbles
    Developer - Ilford ID11 powder 1:3, 13 mins - 1 inversion every 15 seconds
    Stop bath - Ilfostop 1:19, 45 seconds - 1 inversion every 15 seconds
    Fixer - Ilford rapid fixer 1:4, 5 mins - 1 inversion every 15 seconds
    Wash - running tap water, 2 mins
    Rinse - Ilfotol 1:200, 2 mins soak, no inversions

I then shake the reel to get rid of any excess water then remove and hang the negative using metal film clips top to bottom and let it dry naturally ensuring I don't touch the negative.