Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,930   Posts: 1,585,364   Online: 1021

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format

mixing half kodak D-76

This may be a stupid question but I'm new to this and haven't been able to get an answer anywhere.

I picked up a package of Kodak D-76 developer recently. The instructions say to mix it in a full one gallon jug. However, since I doubt that I will use a full gallon before it goes bad, would it be acceptable to mix only half the packet?

What would be the best way to store the leftovers? What is the best way to measure half the powder out? I have a postage scale but I don't know if that is accurate enough to give good results.

Any feedback is appreciated.

Thanks

Jeremiah

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Jeremiah;

There is probably a thread every month on this very subject.

Do not ever mix part of a powder chemical kit. They just are not uniform enough.

PE

Shooter
    Multi Format
    This has been discussed most recently here about XTOL, if I recall correctly. Anyway, my take on the idea is that it is not a good one for a couple of reasons. First, there is no way to guarantee that you'll get an even distribution of all the components that go into that package of D-76. Measuring out exactly equal portions does not guarantee that you'll have just the right amount of each ingredient in each portion. Second, the dry ingredients are packaged in a hermetically sealed envelope containing an inert gas. Once opened, the contents are exposed to oxygen and moisture and will oxidize. Net result, you save nothing because you'll wind up with a batch of bad chemistry that won't work as expected.