Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,294   Posts: 1,535,559   Online: 1101

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

complete newb to film - help needed please

i have just bought my first film camera (hasselblad c) after being digital for 2 years.

if anybody can answer a few questions for me it would be much appreciated!

first, what do you do with exposed film when you are out and about? how do you store it your backpack??

and, do you really have to load and unload film in complete dark?? do you have to have a changing bag??

after reading loads about b/w film, i think i will start with T-Max 400. i have read the developing tables with times / temps for this film exposed at 3200, 1600, 800 / 400.
    400 & 800 have the same figures, does that mean i can meter for both ratings, develop and get both ratings on the same roll?? seems too good to be true!

many thanks
    Dain

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Welcome, Dain,
    No need to load and unload your mags in total darkness. Avoid direct sunlight, though. You can always turn your back to the sun. Do your best to keep the film from getting hot and humid.

Although you CAN expose film at different Exposure Indexes, with roll film it is a bit tricky because most films require different developing when exposed at different personal speed ratings.

My advice: keep it simple. One film; one Exposure Index; one film developer, for many months until you get the hang of things and the "look" of your technique.
    John, Mount Vernon, Virginia USA

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Well, you certainly started with a top of the line camera!