Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,224   Posts: 1,532,566   Online: 1043

Thread: Sodium sulfate

Shooter
    35mm

Sodium sulfate

In my everlasting quest to find a universal b&w reversal recipe, I'm just beginning to dig into the use of sodium sulfate in the first developer.

As far as I know sodium sulfate is used as an anti-swelling agent. Now the rationale for this is: if I use it in the first developer then my emulsion can't swell much and so it receives the least mechanical insult in the following permanganate bleach.

Now a couple of questions:
    1) what's the amount
    2) how, on a molecular level, sodium sulfate acts as an anti-swelling agent
    3) how does it interfere with the development process (I use Kodak d-19)

Thanks in advance, I can't wait to know...

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    I think I could answer number three, anyhow. I'll leave number two to Ron and number one to others. The emulsion needs to swell somewhat so that the developer can interact with all of the silver and if you prevent the natural swelling that occurs during development you might incur some issues that prevent the developer acting evenly across your negs.
    Thank you.
    CWalrath
    APUG BLIND PRINT EXCHANGE
    DE Darkroom

"Wubba, wubba, wubba. Bing, bang, bong. Yuck, yuck, yuck and a fiddle-dee-dee." - The Yeti

Shooter
    Med. Format Pan
    A most interesting inquiry! I too, would like to know what to do with the 1 lb jar of sodium sulfate I have (bought by mistake and didn't return). B&W reversal sounds interesting.
    I'm also waiting to learn..
    "Pictures are not incidental frills to a text; they are essences of our distinctive way of knowing." Stephen J. Gould

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images