Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,556   Posts: 1,545,057   Online: 995

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Processing 120 Film

I'm new to 120 film so this is a really basic (and stupid) question, but I can't find the answer anywhere else.

Is there a standard way to cut 120 film negatives? Like in 35mm, I usually cut them in groups of 5. I was assuming with 120, since its much bigger, I'd cut it down to a single frame, but before I do so, I thought I'd find out if there is an industry standard or preference.

Thanks for the patience and input.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    It depends on the size of the frame you've shot and the type of Printfile sleeve you're using. For example, if you're shooting 6x4.5 you might cut in lengths of 4, 6x6 in lengths of 3 etc. Some Printfile sleeves accept negs horizontally, but with some sleeves you insert the negs vertically. Vertical sleeves allow you to add one more frame to your length, just to confuse the issue further

welcome to APUG, by the way.
    "While you're out there smashing the state, don't forget to keep a smile on your lips and a song in your heart!"

Images
    Good Morning, Chaung77,

Most people cut 120 to fit the configuration of the plastic negative holders they use. 6 x 6 negatives may be cut into 4 strips of 3 or 3 strips of 4, depending on how the negative holder is designed. 6 x 9 negatives are normally cut into 4 strips of 2. 6 x 7 negatives are a problem because cutting them into 3 strips of 3 leaves one outstanding negative which won't fit onto an 8 x 10 contact sheet; 5 strips of 2 requires a second, partial contact sheet.

Konical

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Or, to be different, you can store your negs in long sleeves. You can buy 1000' rolls of sleeving and store whole rolls this way. Probably not the most common way to store, but still a viable one.