Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,727   Posts: 1,515,069   Online: 1102

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Images
    I would like to begin selenium and sepia toning my prints. I'm also looking down the road at split-toning and gold toning.

Can anybody recommend chemicals/fiber papers?

Thank you.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Shooter
    Large Format
    I'm also a novice with toning, and am currently reading Tim Rudman's "The Photgraphers Toning Book" - alot of info but very readable taken in sections of interest. He de-mystifies toning.
    van Huyck Photo
    "Progress is only a direction, and it's often the wrong direction"

The first thing I would recommend is Tim Rudman's book, The Photographers Toning Book - The Definitive Guide.

If you are toning for archival reasons only, any paper will benefit from it.

If you are toning for color also, in my experience, you will find that warm tone papers tone a lot more noticeably than ordinary papers.

Warm Tone developers also will have an effect on the finished tone work.

The following is what I use and the color I achieve.

Ilford MG FB Warm Tone developed in LPD at 1:6 then Kodak Selenium toned in about 1:9 ---a warm slightly eggplant (sort of purpleish) color.

Bergger MG FB Warmtone developed in LPD at 1:6 then selenium toned 1:9 --- a warm brown tone

ILford MG FB Warm Tone developed in Zonal PRo Warm tone developer, selenium toned - --- a very nice warm brown tone

This is what I use mostly. When I sepia I am not as thrilled with the results and they seem to vary more than with selenuim, partly because with sepia the bleach process is another variable. However the colors that I get are usually very warm with a more yellow color to them.

Also in my experience selenium add contrast as well as darkens the print a little, and when I sepia it tends to make the print a bit lighter.