Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,918   Posts: 1,584,742   Online: 880

Shooter
    35mm

D76 mixed from scratch - expired powders?

How can be seen if metol or hydroquinone powders are expired?
    My metol is pale grey and my hydroquinone is light ivory...

If I mix d76 from them I get consistently thin negatives to my eyes...

Since I don't have a densitometer I don't know how can I perform a proper developer activity test...
    Last edited by Alessandro Serrao; 05-23-2009 at 02:08 AM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I'm no chemistry expert, but if your negs are looking thin, your hydroquinone might well be kaput. Either way, it's easier to buy some fresh chemistry than put up with consistently thin negs. A bloke from Rayco (chemical suppliers in the UK - now sadly gone) once told me, if you're in any doubt about metol, just use it for paper developers. The logic being, you can always make a new print. You can't - obviously - reprocess your films.
    Norman is an island.Time and tide wait for Norman.

Shooter
    35mm
    Quote Originally Posted by Blighty View Post
    I'm no chemistry expert, but if your negs are looking thin, your hydroquinone might well be kaput. Either way, it's easier to buy some fresh chemistry than put up with consistently thin negs. A bloke from Rayco (chemical suppliers in the UK - now sadly gone) once told me, if you're in any doubt about metol, just use it for paper developers. The logic being, you can always make a new print. You can't - obviously - reprocess your films.