Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,851   Posts: 1,582,860   Online: 827

Shooter
    35mm

X-ray films as negatives for positives?

I have wondered about this for years: when I worked as an x-ray assistant film librarian, I was fascinated by the old, everyday, ordinary x-ray film. They look like very large (11x14?) negatives, which I think they are, and they are always read as a negative. Has anyone ever taken the time to print one as a positive, or is this just not done? I'm not talking about using a positive as a diagnostic tool but maybe as....Art??????

Anyone ever done this, or heard of it being done?

Think of the artistic possibilities of your old outdated x-rays!:rolleyes:

Thanks to all who reply.

With best regards.

Stephen S. Mack

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    a radiologist lived across the street from me.
    he said that often times in the uk they looked at the xray as a positive print
    but here in the states it was looked at as a negative.

there are probably privacy issues that swirl around using someone elses
    xrays or getting access to them. i knew hank hill had images ( of his insides )
    from a medical test removed from that fancy art gallery that was displaying them ...

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Well if you grab a generic X ray picture off the internet, then use any image handling program you want (Even paint) you can invert it and see the result.

I think that X rays haven't been viewed as positives in the past, as it was an extra step in processing, and the average physician was just looking for changes in density to show a problem. that works both in negative and positive format
    Last edited by Aurum; 07-15-2009 at 03:39 PM. Click to view previous post history.