Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,276   Posts: 1,534,755   Online: 927

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Thoughts on RC VC paper, I need a good replacement

So just when I finally get to breaking out the Forte Polywarmtone RC Semi-Matte, and just after falling in love with it I see that it seems to be discontinued. And unfortunately I only bought 25 sheets!

Are there any comparable papers to Forte Polywarmtone out there? I don't really like glossy. I am not ready or interested in FB right now. I like VC and I print with a grade 3 filter. I am printing in my own darkroom again and I didn't realize how short my exposures are ~ 3/4 seconds with the Ilford MGIV glossy, so I LOVED how slow that Forte paper was, that same negative at 4 seconds on Ilford printed lovely on the Forte at f11 at 12seconds.

I have no knowledge of any other papers so are there good papers versus not so good papers? My film is TMX 400 for 35mm and TMX or TMY400 for 120 and developing in dektol with plans to try out xtol in the near future if that info helps any...... Any thoughts or suggestions?

Also it may be too late to hoard Forte but I'm at least going to hunt for some, what are thoughts on buying paper from that Auction site? I'm wary of buying paper from there.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Mekia,

ILFORD Warmtone is available on resin coated paper.

Tom.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    You could also invest in a neutral density filter to lengthen your exposure times with the faster paper. I have a 2-stop ND which luckily fits all three of my enlarging lenses (50, 80 and 105). I bought it to use when making small enlargements where exposure times were getting very short.

DaveT

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Thanks Tom I just went to BH and found it, I'll try some of the pearl finish.