Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,918   Posts: 1,556,419   Online: 1169

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Expired HP5

Shooter
    35mm

Expired HP5

Hi, I'm new to the photography and the forum. It was nice to discover a forum dedicated completely to analog photography, I was never really drawn to digital. Now to the question.

I bought some expired HP5, according to the owner it's 5-6 years old. It wasn't stored in a fridge but he said that it was never exposed to high heat either.
    I shot several rolls and it seems to be fairly OK. I made a few prints and I didn;t notice any weird anomalies, like lines that I saw on some expired HP5 on flickr. But compared to the new HP5 the film base is darker. Not very dark, but visibly darker when the negatives are compared. I'm not sure if Ilford changed the emulsion or if it is the age of the film. The casettes look different from the new ones.

I develop with D76 1:1 at 11 minutes. Should I compansate somehow when developing, different dillution, longer/shorter times, because of the darker base?

Cheers

Shooter
    35mm
    I'm sure it's just fogged slightly due to age. There are chemicals that people add to developers to suppress fogging, but I don't remember what they are.
    f/22 and be there.

ann

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    perhaps it is just some fog, and if it isn't too serious you an just print through the fog.

i would wait to print the negatives before adjusting times.
    http://www.aclancyphotography.com

Shooter
    Multi Format
    You could rate it at 320 to give more of an edge.
    Last edited by Mike Kennedy; 06-12-2009 at 11:45 AM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    35mm