Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,524   Posts: 1,543,891   Online: 980

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    4x5 Format

efke 25 development

I'm new to developing film. I just developed my first sheet of 4X5 film, last week-TMAX 100 in Rodinal. I was surprised that the negatives came out ok (actually, that they came out, at all.)

I use a Yankee Tank, and shoot only 4X5. My issue is that I just tried to develop 4X5 Efke 25, and the results were terrible. WAY to contrasy-to the point that I couldn't make prints from them. I used Rodinal 1 +50 for 8 minutes (per the digital truth site.) I was really disappointed. How to I develop Efke 25 in 4X5, and get good negatives that aren't so contrasy?

Thank you.

Adam

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    I have had success with two developers and efke 25: wd2d+ (a pyro formula) and POTA. The latter is one-shot and probably too inconvenient for your purposes but keep it in mind if you need extreme range. I've also gotten acceptable results in ID11 1+1 but I think the wd2d+ negs were the easiest to print overall.
    "Only dead fish follow the stream"

[APUG Portfolio] [APUG Blog] [Website]

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    What do you think caused the excessive contrast?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    It is very contrasty film and rodinal at 1+50 is probably not compensating enough for you.
    "Only dead fish follow the stream"

[APUG Portfolio] [APUG Blog] [Website]

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by adam h View Post
    What do you think caused the excessive contrast?
    This film builts up contrast fast. My notes for the old Adox R-14 (now EFKE 25) indicate Rodinal 1+ 100, 15 minutes, 68 F, for printing with a diffusion enlarger. That should put you well in the ball park with 4x5.
    John, Mount Vernon, Virginia USA