Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,212   Posts: 1,532,054   Online: 1233

Shooter
    35mm

High Contrast Development Techniques

I apologize if this is a basic question, but I am fairly new to developing my own film.

I am doing some photos of sculptures and am looking for methods to maximize contrast to bring out the details of my subject.

Recently, I have been using Arista and Tmax (120) film. I have been using the Tmax and Arista liquid premium developer. The Tmax film has nice balance of tones, but doesn't have the contrast I'm looking for. I have tried both developers with the Arista film, but the Arista developer seems to give better results overall.

Still, I feel like I need more contrast for these sculptures. I have heard Rodinal exaggerates contrast. Are there any film/developer combinations I should use? This is a situation where I need more contrast than I do for more general situations.

Secondly, could I make any significant difference by changing development technique? I have been using standard procedures, agitating 10 seconds every minute at suggested times.

Thanks for any help and suggestions.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Try increasing the development times by 15-20% that will give you an increase in contrast. Rodinal doesn't give any higher contrast.

There are developer formulae that would give you far higher contrast but you would struggle to print the negatives, stick with what you have and adjust the development time..

Ian

If you're trying to bring out texture and detail, I'd start with how you're lighting the subject rather than how much you need to overdevelop the film. Sharp, specular light brings out detail, soft, diffuse light reduces it. As long as your normal development routine brings out good contrast in normal scenes, it should do the job. Make the light sharp and contrasty instead.