Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,519   Posts: 1,543,785   Online: 777

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images

starting point for increasing contrast

Howdy,

I am still relatively new to this home processing game, having been processing for only 6 months or so. Everything I have done has pretty much been by the book. I have been using Ilford products, both with film and with developers.

If I wanted to introduce a bit more contrast with my negs, what would be the best approach? Should I be trying to do it in camera with different filters (I have been using a red quite a bit, but need to get some others)?

If I wanted to do it at the developing stage, what would be the best approach? If I were to increase development times, should I increase by 10% or 50% (to use some broad figures). At the moment, I am using ID-11 and Delta400

Cheers

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    The best route is change overall contrast is through devlopment. On-camera filters will change the contrast based on the colors in in the image (e.g. red makes red things lighter and red's compliment (blue) darker). A good starting point it about 15-20% more development.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Perfect, that is exactly the information I need. I am getting a good range of tones on most of my chosen images(I have been bracketing my shots. Its all about learning what works and what doesn't for me), but I personally like to see a bit more contrast.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images