Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,717   Posts: 1,483,082   Online: 905

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format

Paper choice for infra red film

I have just shot my first roll of Konica IR750 and have printed a couple of the pictures. As a relative beginner i'm using RC paper and have a choice of Jessops Gloss or Lustre. On my course last night we had a lively debate on the merits of these two finishes, especially when used for printing my IR pics.
    I personally found the lustre finish a lot more appealing but was generally overruled.
    What do you use and why? And can you perhaps recommend some papers i could try to expand my reportoire.
    [size=1]the all new darkplanet photoblog[/size][size=1]
    [/size]

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    when I shot a lot of infrared I used Kodak Ektalure G with type2 developer. But that was a while ago and I'm not sure it's still available. I've never seen a better combination for IR..

Shooter
    Multi Format
    doesn't matter what the film is, I prefer lower sheen surfaces.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Personal preference with RC papers is for a pearl or lustre surface. Gloss is (IHMO) just too damn shiny!

I'm just starting out with FB and have only tried gloss finish with air drying. This is far better than the RC gloss, obviously I won't know how it compares with other FB finishes until I try 'em!

Personally I prefer Ilford Multigrade to the Jessops papers... ...and top tip if your college darkroom safelight is at all dodgy (ours was on a par with a sunlamp!); Ilford Multigrade RC Warmtone resists safelight flashing / fogging much better than the normal or Cooltone variants.
    The destination is important, but so is the journey

Shooter
    Medium Format