Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 72,434   Posts: 1,596,877   Online: 1221

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Help me to learn Pan F+ and Perceptol.

Hi folks,

I am a relative newbie to photography B/W darkroom use. I have a Durst M670 and I use a Mamiya RB67 with 65mm and 127mm lenses and some filters.
    I would like to learn how to get quality, repeatable results with Pan F Plus and dilute Perceptol. I have bought 20 rolls of 120 film and 5 boxes of Perceptol along with stop, fix and wetting agent.
    I also have Multigrade paper and developer.
    Any users of this film and developer?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    In you're other post I mentioned Bill Spears, PM him as it's his regular combination.

Ian

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Throw out the Perceptol and use Pyrocat-HD, or D-76 1+1. Loverly schtuff.
    Rick A
    Argentum aevum

Regina Canada (sounds more fun than it is)
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    I use this combination on a regular basis, it is very nice since the negatives are grain free and very good tones. For my set up*, I expose the film at 42 ISO, dilute the Perceptol 1:1 with water, develop at the recommended time listed on the box with an extra energetic agitation for the first and the last minute of developing. As well, I often shoot it at 25 ISO and develop it in undiluted Perceptol at recommended box times. These are some of the more beautiful negatives I have but you need a situation that has a lot of tones in it, as the contrast can be quite harsh (to my eyes) whereas the 42 ISO has a nicer contrast and good tones, just not the same depth as the 25 ISO negatives.

* For my set up and with my testing of rolls. There is no magic bullet as water hardness differs by area, agitation methods are unique and themometers differ minutely.