Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,770   Posts: 1,516,518   Online: 770

Shooter
    Multi Format

Efke R25 and...?

I have never used a thick emulsion film before and had heard that I definitely needed to try Eke R25 or R50, I am used to using APX 100 and PanF+. My question is... when using these films will Rodinal (1:25 or 1:50) provide nice results or should I get that Neofin blue... or Pyro? Any suggestions would help as I am new to this stuff. Also I will be shooting 6x7 format, if that makes any difference. Thanks -Grant

Ole
    Shooter
    Large Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by VoidoidRamone
    I have never used a thick emulsion film before and had heard that I definitely needed to try Eke R25 or R50,
    when using these films will Rodinal (1:25 or 1:50) provide nice results or should I get that Neofin blue... or Pyro?
    Some of the most beautiful negatives I've ever made were on EFKE R50 (then called R17) developed in Neofin Blue. If you can wait a little, I'm running a comparison test on EFKE PL25 in five different developers today (Pyrocat-HD, FX-2, Neofin Blue, "Beutler's", D-76). I'm only interested in tonality and speed in this quick test, the grain is insignificant on my 5x7" negatives anyway.

BTW, the EFKE films are not thick emulsion! They are derived from the very first thin emulsion films, the ADOX KB films made by Fa. Dr. C. Schleussner in 1950. NOT THICK!
    -- Ole Tjugen, Luddite Elitist
    Norway

Shooter
    Multi Format