Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,943   Posts: 1,557,661   Online: 1194

Shooter
    4x5 Format

Kodak D23 DEVELOPER

Good evening,
    I am an italian architect with the passion for photography.
    I use 35mm, 6x7-6x9 and 4 x 5.
    My film are Rollei superpan 200 for 35mm and Rollei Tonal 100 for medium and large format.
    I love D-23 for developing my film with 1+1 or 1+2 diluition.
    The contrast is low, the gray scale is wide but the acutance is low.
    For increasing it I have read, in many scripture, is possible to use :1+3 diluition, add 50cc potassium iodide 0.001% and to make an unbroken agitation for the first minute and 5 seconds/3-4 minutes.
    Somebody had ever tried to follow this procedure? What are been the results?
    Is sufficient increasing the developing time of 25/30% starting from that used for 1+2 diluition (19.30 minutes).
    Thanks and sorry for my bad english
    giampiero

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Two things are contributing to the low contrast problem. First, Metol is a low contrast developing agent which needs time to work. Second, the higher dilution of 1+2 works to lower contrast. There is nothing wrong with increasing the development time. I would first try increasing times by 15% and then 30% if necessary. You are right dilution will help with acutance. You mention 50 ml of potassium iodide solution but don't mention the total amount of developer solution. Typically 5 to 10 ml is added to 250 ml of developer.

You can also try adding 2 grams of borax to the undiluted D-23. The slightly higher pH will improve contrast without increasing development time.
    A rock pile ceases to be a rock pile the moment a single man contemplates it, bearing within him the image of a cathedral.

~Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Shooter
    Multi Format