Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,540   Posts: 1,544,350   Online: 1023

Page 1 of 12 123456711 ... LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

BW reversal options

Hi guys, I'm scanning a lot of my old stuff, and am just coming to realize how awesome Scala was in 35mm format. I'm currently using Rollei ATP 1.1 and have heard "a little" about Fomapan R100. In short, is there any 35mm (or MF...I plan on getting either a Rollei or another Pentax 6x7 most likely) BW reversal film available that can be home processed? I've never tried this before, obviously, usually just use regular negatives.

I'd love to be able to get slides (with full tones) out of ATP 1.1. Slides in general just seem to scan way better on my Minolta. But I'm still learning how to use it lol.

Do I have any options?

Thanks

Shawn

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    You can pretty much use any black and white film you like and reversal process it yourself. You'll have to mix up the bleach and clearing bath from scratch, but the powders are cheap and fairly safe if you use the right precautions. The potassium permanganate is a little dangerous, but as long as you wear gloves and a dust mask when mixing, you'll be fine as long as you dont do something silly like mistake it for grape kool-aid . Also use rubber gloves while developing (I've heard about the methol in Dektol causing problems with some peoples' skin. That should be enough incintive to use gloves, but the bleach and clear bath could cause problems, too. IDK how dangerous they are in liquid form, but it's best to be safe).

I've been reversal processing FP4+ for a little less than a year. Here's my process and chemicals

Developer: Dektol 1:2 (paper strength)

Stop Bath: Arista branded stop bath at normal working strength

Bleach Bath:
    (Step 1) Mix 4 grams of potassium permanganate with 1 liter of water.