Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,202   Posts: 1,531,567   Online: 1120

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

X-ray Fogged Film ? Old Developer ? Not exposed Film ? Don't know

I am a newbie to developing my own film. I've successfully developed 2 rolls so far so please go easy on me. I developed two rolls the last couple of nights and both had come up completely transparent - just a plastic transparent sheet of film. Both films were T-max 400, developed in Rodinal 1:50, for 14 min at 78C.

I've carried these rolls around to some trips abroad to South America, specifically, always as a carry on. But now I started thinking that the X-ray machines for carry-on luggage are not likely to be calibrated, as here in the US, to avoid fogging film. However, I am not seeing any fog just a transparent film - i not even see the film brand and the numbering of the frames.

The rodinal solution i have is two months old. It is dark in color and I guess that's a normal coloration so I am not too suspicious about it.

I have a Mamiya 6 that I bought last year and feel pretty comfortable operating it. I don't know how can I not expose the film. But I am not discarding any option.

As far as darkroom equipment, i have the universal Paterson Tank, that once I rolled the film into the spiral, placed the funnel on top of it and locked it tight, the tank is completely sealed.

I don't know what I'm doing wrong and feeling very disappointed about this now. Thanks in advance for your comments !
    Gabe

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Sorry about your two rolls.

When you say "rodinal solution" are you referring to the concentrate, as it comes from the manufacturer, or are you referring to a diluted working solution? If it is the working solution, it won't last two months.

Usually, when there is nothing on the film, it means either: