Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,901   Posts: 1,584,442   Online: 938

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

What kind of toning process is this?

Hi APUGers.

I've been doing this toning process off and on for over 10 years. While I was assisting, I learned this process where you take a BW print that printed darker than normal, then it's "toned" in a solution of potassium Ferricyanide and potassium bromide. The print is bleached to a certain point. I then wash the bleached print then re-expose it in bright sunlight. The image comes back a brownish. It looks sort of like a lith print. Is this a toning process? How toxic is the solution of potassium Ferricyanide and potassium bromide? Thanks in advance.

Shooter
    Med. Format RF
    Images
    I would think after you get the desired effect, do your fix , hypo clear and wash sequence again.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Not needed

Quote Originally Posted by Bob Carnie View Post
    I would think after you get the desired effect, do your fix , hypo clear and wash sequence again.
    I've had prints that are 10 years old and there wasn't any fixing after toning the prints. Just a wash to remove any residual toner.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Both potassium bromide and potassium ferricyanide are not very toxic just don't eat them. Usually when you bleach a print you refix it to remove the bleached silver.
    A rock pile ceases to be a rock pile the moment a single man contemplates it, bearing within him the image of a cathedral.

~Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Does exposure to sun get convert the bleached siver?

Quote Originally Posted by Gerald C Koch View Post