Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,563   Posts: 1,545,300   Online: 792

Shooter
    Large Format

Newbie development question: how dark should the sprocket area be?

Hi All,
    I am starting to use Caffenol and have to adjust my process (I am also pretty new to home development) to suit Rollei Retro 100. I have found references that say I should develop for 15 mintutes. However, my negatives are a bit dark- should the sprocket area be relatively clear? The sprocket area and the gaps between images that are grey.
    I am not refering to scanned negatives.

I have two (hopefully) simple questions:
    1. How dark should the sprocket area of a film negative be if it is correctly developed?
    2.If the grey negative is an issue, do I develop for a shorter time, or a longer time? - I know this should be obvious, but I am confused.

Again - Just to be clear - I am refering to the actual negative film being rather grey (is this called a thick negative?).
    Best regards,
    Mark
    Last edited by mkillmer; 04-24-2011 at 08:05 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Here is an unedited scan of a negative from my current process (only cropped)...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails img199.jpg  

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Depends a little on what you call grey.
    The sprocket area should be clear or close to it, the frame number markings should be easily visible.
    If it is grey then it's a sign the film has been fogged.
    A scan showing the full width of the film, and preferably more than one frame would help.
    The scanned negative looks to have fairly low contrast. Though many things can cause that, fogging is one cause.

Shooter
    Multi Format