Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,300   Posts: 1,535,813   Online: 724

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

B&W Film chemistry question!

Hi there,

I am a student at college studying photography and I have a test tomorrow for my monochrome processing class.

We have to know the make up of film and i pretty much have it covered, but there are a couple of things I have tried researching for weeks and have came up blank!

Can anyone explain what binders and their qualities are? I think binders is the chemistry that bonds the emulsion to the film base? Also, dye sensitising?

If anyone could explain these even just a little i would be so greatfull!

Thank you.

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    I may be wrong about this, but I think that "binder" designates anything that holds a light sensitive mixture together, like gelatin in the case of films and photo papers, or collodion in the case of wet plates.

Also, dye sensitising?
    Short answer: certain dyes are added to the emulsion to increase the sensitivity (particularly spectral sensitivity) of the silver halides. Without them the emulsion would only be sensitive from blue upwards.

The idea is that the effect of the photons upon the silver halide grains is proportional to the extent to which they are absorbed into the grains. By coating the grains with a dye of a certain color, the absorbtion of light of the complementary color into the grains is facilitated. For instance, you can make an emulsion sensitive to green by adding a magenta (more or less) dye. The theory is long and complicated. There's more to these dyes than their color, and only a few of them have all the properties necessary to work as sensitizers.
    Last edited by Vlad Soare; 05-10-2011 at 07:57 AM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images