Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,550   Posts: 1,544,877   Online: 933

Thread: 400iso Pan F +

Shooter
    Multi Format

400iso Pan F +

I have been shooting ilford film for the last 2 years now, and having shot at least 2000 photos I have realized that most of the ones I like in terms of tonality and depth where shot on ilfords pan F +. I have tried delta 100 and 400 but for some reason the grays look flatter. Does ilford make a higher speed version of Pan F + ? Like a 400iso version for example ? I would like to get a faster film (for the times 50iso is to slow) with the same tonal characteristics of Pan F +.

I develop in Ilford DDX and i'm wondering if maybe this developer causes other films to have a flatter grayscale but leaves pan F+ alone. Does the use of distilled water cause problems with modern films ?

I have not really tried the HP series of films enough, how are they compared to delta 100 or 400 ?

Am I maybe using the wrong developer (ddx) on the modern films that causes grayscale this flatness ? Any recommendations here ? Any tips would be great.

Thank you in advance.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Please correct me if I'm wrong. Pan F should belong to the same family as FP4 and HP5.

HP5 is a good medium speed film, will have a wider tonal range and will be easier to push/pull than the Deltas.
    Give it a spin using DD-X, good combo. Try bracketing +/- 1/2, 1 stop for you to determine the speed of your film/developer/developing method combo.

IMHO HP5 tends to be a bit flat too, I like to overdelop it a 5-10% to give it more snap.. or simply print using grade 3-1/2 paper
    Mama took my APX away.....

Shooter
    Multi Format