Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,924   Posts: 1,585,008   Online: 1077

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Atomal 49

Shooter
    Multi Format

Atomal 49

I placed an order on ILFord Delta 100 and ILFord Pan F 50 and wondering how will it goes these films go with Atomal 49.

Yeah, I have no experience on developers should have take Rodinal path. Nevertheless, I would like know you experience in this regard.

Target shooting: Portraits with flash and landscapes.
    OM-1n: Do I need to own a Leica?
    Rolleicord Va: Humble.
    Holga 120GFN: Amazingly simple yet it produces outstanding negatives to print.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    It's an ultra fine grain developer. You'll lose some speed, around one stop depending on development, and at stock strength sharpness suffers (trade-off for fine grain). That could be desirable for portraiture. However you'd get pretty much the same characteristics using Ilford Perceptol. With an ultra-fine grain developer Pan F will be more rewarding from an image quality perspective than Delta 100. These are fine grained films to begin with so you might want to first try a general purpose developer and see if you like the results, before going to an ultrafine grain developer like Atomal. Developers like XTOL, ID11/D76 and DDX will all give you much better film speed, fine grain and good sharpness.