Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,754   Posts: 1,515,938   Online: 993

Shooter
    Multi Format

should i use a different developer?

i am thinking of changing film and print developers.
    i have been using the same thing ( ansco 130 ) for 4-5 years
    and switched from xtol & dektol before that ( years and years ).

i am not sure why i am doing this, maybe because i just ran out of 130, and want to try something new once again.

anyone have any suggestions for me?

i am leary about going back to xtol. it has such a short shelf life ... i won't really get a chance to use it before it expires ( i mixed some up in the spring and i don't really want to trust it now ... with only a few rolls & sheets put through it )

thanks in advance for your suggestions

-john

rjr
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    John,

if you´d tell us what films you are using, we might be able to make a suggestion based on that (and the individual experiences)... and what formats you plan to apply the dev to.

Witht he old Xtol - do a snip test just priot to developing. Mix the solution, put in a snip of film in it and watch it. If nothing happens, the dev is dead, if it turns black in appropriate time - everything is allright.

I have never used that Xtol, but from what I have heard it is a binary developer - if it fails, it fails completely. ;->
    Tschüss,
    Roman

Shooter
    Large Format Pan
    Images

John

Check out the thread about Microdol that I posted. The suggestion for storage in plastic Coca Cola bottles should work for Xtol, which I think already has a long shelf life in my huble opinion. In gas tight plastic bottles filloed to the very top, I imagine you could keep it for quite a while.

rjr
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Andrew,