Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,526   Posts: 1,572,361   Online: 1048

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Is it possible to make a scratch in the negative film with an antistatic brush?

Is it possible to make a scratch in the negative film with an antistatic brush?
    I do not understand the reason, but some scratches have appeared in my negatives that were not there before. I have been working with an Adorama Camel Hair Cleaning since four years ago, and this problem have not occurred me before. The brush looks like new and the film is Tmax 400, 120 medium format.
    Do you know another cause?
    Thank you,
    Henry.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Possible, if you have any tiny pieces of grit lodged in the brush.
    testing...

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Thanks, Kevin.
    I have to say that the brush is completely clean.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Anything that touches film can potentially scratch it.

I have seen a jet of air scratch film. Some idiot decided that he was going to use an air compressor to clean stuff in the projection booth but he didn't put a dirt trap in line with the hose and he blew millions of microscopic dust particles directly into the film, from close range at high speed. He basically sandblasted the film.

When projected, the film looked like a cat had gone crazy and clawed the screen... millions of tiny, little black lines all over.
    The manager called me up and said, "The picture looks funny." (They always say "funny" when they know they did something wrong.)
    I took one look and said, "You used an air compressor. Didn't you?"
    The guy lied and denied it but I could tell from the way his face went white when I called him on it that he had used a compressor.

The best way to keep film clean is to not let it get dirty in the first place.

Easier said than done... I know...