Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,933   Posts: 1,585,525   Online: 842

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

Agfa Selenia toner

Hello guys,
    I recently bought this selenium toner but I'm not sure how to use it, since I've never used a toner before.
    On the pack there is very little information:

TIME
    Improvement of archive stability - 10 mins
    Increase of maximum blackness - 4 mins
    Influence of image toning - 30 to 60 mins (this is what I want)

DILUTION
    1+20 for archival processing
    1+20 or 1+40 to increase shadow contrast and maximum density with a minimum image tone change

SO,
    This is what I would do:
    develop, stop, fix, wash a print. Open the light, put it in the toner (1+40) for 30 to 60mins, taking it out when I see that I like the tone. Wash it under water.

Is there anything I'm missing?
    What about quantity of liquid? I usually use 1/2 liter of dev, stop and fix, should I use 1/2 liter of toner too?
    How many prints can I tone with one solution?

Any other tip specifically about Agfa Selenia?

Any help would be precious and very appreciated

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I am not familiar with this particular toner but the directions sound the same as for other Selenium toners.
    Some papers will not tone very much (Ilford fiber paper) - you will need to experiment.

Mix with filtered or distilled water. One Liter should be good for 25 8x10 sheets. Keep track of how many sheets you are using and keep using it until you have reached the maximum capacity.

Use a tray and tongs dedicated for the toner only to avoid contamination (staining)

The processing sequence is correct but to avoid possible staining I would adjust it. Mix the same volume as for the other chemistry.
    After the Fixer, for Fiber paper:

Wash for 5 min
    Wash-Aid (Ilford or other) 3min