Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,934   Posts: 1,585,600   Online: 649

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Large Format
    Images

Dealing with big rolls of photo paper

I found a roll of Fomatone 542 Chamois paper to buy, and for that I'm thankful, but I've never worked with big (1 meter wide) paper before. Cutting off some pieces to test with a scissors felt really clumsy and yielded some interesting trapezoids. My darkroom is small and I need a way to easily cut nice sheets and flatten then in the dark in a limited space. The paper is very curly off the roll and between that and the size--is a bit of a struggle. Anyone have any hints or tips? Thanks.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Barry- Do you have enough room to roll a bit of the paper on the darkroom floor? If so, my technique may work. I cut a piece of cardboard the size I want to trim the paper to. I place that over the paper, just to get the right size. I slide a metal straightedge below the cardboard, lining it up with the cardboard edge. Underneath, I have oversized cardboard, so I can use the straightedge and an Exacto blade.
    If you don't have the floorspace, can you borrow a darkroom to cut it in? You'd be welcome to cut it in my DR- I'm in Alexandria.

BTW- Did you get it from the Craigslist posting for "Fumatone"?

Shooter
    35mm
    Got news for you: my darkroom is even smaller. I live in a 12 ft x 12 ft efficiency and my 'darkroom' is in a corner. Years ago I bought about eight rolls of color photo paper (dirt cheap) and cut it all in that tiny space. YOU MUST BE ORGANIZED.