Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 76,264   Posts: 1,680,778   Online: 794

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

How do I do a wash with a dry darkroom?

This is my first time posting.

I'm in the process of setting up a darkroom in a closet in my apartment. The closet has no running water, so I'm trying to figure out the best way to go about doing a wash. My first thought was to just put my prints in a tray in the bathtub, but I'm not sure if that would cause the bathtub to stain. I'm renting, so I really can't leave developer stains in my tub.

So, would the chemical residue on the prints leave stains in the tub?

If so, what other way could I wash my prints?

Any feedback is much appreciated.

Shooter
    Sub 35mm
    Images
    I do mine in the tub and have never seen a stain.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    When I had a dry darkroom, I used a plastic washtub full of water to put my prints in. When I was done, I took them to the laundry room for washing. Never saw any stains. Hypo shouldn't stain. Try it and see. You can always use some bathroom cleaner if there is anything.
    Bruce

Moma don't take my Kodachrome away!
    Oops, Kodak, of all people, did!

BruceCSdunekPhotography.zenfolio.com

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I don't have running water in the darkroom either.

I fill a 5 gallon full of water for use in the darkroom. Another, empty bucket serves as waste.
    I keep two trays of water on the table. One is to rinse prints in as they come out of the fixer/hypo-clear. The other is a holding bath until I get a batch of prints that can go out to the laundry room to wash under running water.

After I get a batch of prints into the wash, I empty the two trays, using the waste bucket, and refill using the supply bucket.
    This is also a good time to refill or replenish any chemistry on the table that might need it.