Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,501   Posts: 1,543,364   Online: 814

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

Developing Delta 3200 with Atomal 49

One of my friend asked me to develop this film but I have only Atomal 49 and Rodinal as developers.

Adox.de recommends 12-14 mins with stock Atomal 49 solution, but I have no experience with this combo. Any help.
    OM-1n: Do I need to own a Leica?
    Rolleicord Va: Humble.
    Holga 120GFN: Amazingly simple yet it produces outstanding negatives to print.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I'd recommend you use Rodinal. Atomal-type developers are ultra fine grain formulas. Since Delta 3200 has prominent grain, I'd personally rather see the grain look relatively sharp, which is what you'll get with Rodinal. If you use Atomal, the grain in Delta 3200 will still be very visible, but will look softer or "mushy". This is why generally I don't think it is a good idea to try and minimize the graininess of fast films by using ultra fine grain developers.

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images
    Great advice there from Michael. Delta3200 looks great with Rodinal and the way it should. You'll have grain but its Delta3200.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I like Rodinal too, but I have no idea about how it was shot. Nevertheless, I will go with ILFord's recommendations of 11mins @3200.

Also, wondering for kind of films I use Ultra-fine grain developers.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Hmmm, I'm not so sure. D3200 has crisp grain but it is fairly enormous with Rodinal and 35mm will be rough as coarse sandpaper. I have done 120 in rodinal and thought it pretty nasty. 35mm I would not even contemplate in Rodinal unless I wanted that look specifically.