Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,531   Posts: 1,572,516   Online: 1083

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

4x5 film holders

I am just starting out with 4x5. I have done 35/120 for a great part of my life. I have been "given" 4 holders that always leave light leaks on the negative. Is there anyone out there who has film holders 4x5 that are proven "sealed" ? I only need maybe 2 for now so I can see what it is like to make a great 4x5. I live in W/Canada so shipping will be the biggest deciding factor. I have invested in the camera, lens, enlarger lens and 100 sheets of film only to be discourage by the holders. Maybe that the marks are left by something else but people here and in LFP think as I do. Someone must have some proven light sealed 4x5 that are just taking up space in their collection. And NO I do not want your "free" ones as I have paid shipping across N America for crap.
    Thanks Dennis
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1-Attemt @ 1 decent photo.jpg  

Shooter
    Large Format
    If you're just starting out, then the first thing you need to know is to pull the black cloth back over the camera back as soon as you pull out the dark slide, especially if the slot is pointed up. All film holders are to be considered leaky, even when new. Don't just walk around with a Graflex for instance with your dark slide out. Also be sure it's not the dark slide at all, but the spring-back of the camera, the felt, and how much back pressure you put on the film holder while slipping the slid in and out. Film holders get blamed for light leaks and sent to prison, when they were innocent, all the time.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images