Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,558   Posts: 1,573,291   Online: 963

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Kodak's Film issues

I am not an industry insiders. I am a small town CPA in the Texas. I've seem many companies and several industries come and go. Kodak has several viable and broken business under the umbrella named Kodak.

The only one I am interested in is the film business. Kodak's issues is one of size. There manufacturing plants and machinery is too big and too fast what has become the new sales volumes. We see several other player in the market place, and FreeStyle seems to investing to keep the hobby/art alive.

I can only think that Kodak's brass is going to find a way to stay in the film market. It can be a very profitable business center.

I plan to shoot film for long time. I will be shooting Kodak B&W. I have faith the some business leader will step forward to right size the infastructure to keep Kodak's film business going.

Alfredo
    Small Town CPA

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Hello Alfredo and welcome to APUG. I have similar hopes as you do. Thanks for your refreshing post.
    Items for sale or trade at www.Camera35.com

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    Hi Alfredo, and to echo Fotch above - great to hear there are those out there rooting for Kodak. They've sure made some "poor decisions" as I will call them over the years, but many of us would be extremely happy for the next generation to grow up shooting Kodak like we did.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    We certainly hope so.

I could live without Kodak for black and white but I would rather not. There's no other film quite as good as TMY-2 and no other film quite like Tri-X (both the 400 and 320 versions.)