Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,548   Posts: 1,573,039   Online: 836

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Amazon is patenting a studio lighting setup!

Anyone seen this? Amazon is apparently trying to patent studio lighting setups! Here's a little part of the claims its filed :Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Amazon_patent_studio.jpg 
Views:	90 
Size:	1.06 MB 
ID:	87458

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    "...the longtitudinal axis further being substantially perpendicular to a surface..."
    Wow.
    I've read a lot of patents that made no sense (and not many that do), and always presumed that the reason they made nonsense was because they were online-translated from Japanese.
    But when I did my Engineering degree (or even back at highschool), we learnt what Perpendicular meant. As far as I recall, perpendicularity is absolute, either it is or it isn't. I've never heard of something being "substantially" perpendicular, more perpendicular than the other perpendicular things...
    An awful lot of electrons were terribly inconvenienced in the making of this post.

f/64 and be there.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Hahaha, hadnt noticed that.
    Still, the audacity of filing a patent for lighting set-up!

Sent from Tap-a-talk

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    This is a purely defensive patent which will probably never interfere with anything we do in a studio. Nothing to see here, please move on ...

Some background here: