Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 72,540   Posts: 1,598,863   Online: 1173

Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

10 worst college majors for your career

According to Kiplinger's, photography is number 8 on the list of 10 worst majors:

http://www.kiplinger.com/slideshow/c...ex.html?cid=32
    “You seek escape from pain. We seek the achievement of happiness. You exist for the sake of avoiding punishment. We exist for the sake of earning rewards. Threats will not make us function; fear is not our incentive. It is not death that we wish to avoid, but life that we wish to live.” - John Galt

Shooter
    Medium Format
    I managed to get a good photo job with my BFA in photography. I work as a staff photographer for the Air Force.

ToddB

Shooter
    35mm

nonsense

They write this nonsense to sell advertisement. If one has a passion for a certain thing what should s/he do, become a bean counter and drag through life doing something really boring? Name me one legendary photographer who had a Harvard MBA. I've seen a million dentists with shiny new Leica M3s who didn't know what all those knobs were for. And never will.

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Images
    If we want a degree in Canada, we have to go to university, not college. Glad I cleared that up... I feel much better. Anyways, I do have a BFA, which is affectionately referred to here as a Bachelor of $%#! All. After graduating, I got an assistant curatorship at the Kelowna Art Gallery... and I got it mainly because of my degree, and my studies in art history. Learnt a lot of about the business side of art, which is not my cup of tea. So, it wasn't a complete waste of time.