Switch to English Language Passer en langue franaise Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,966   Posts: 1,523,348   Online: 1165

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Tetenal E-6 kit - how do you use it?

Hi,

I am new with Tetenal's E-6 kit and need some advices... I am bit frustrated now

previously I used Kodak Single Use E-6 kit, it was simple and easy, but as I can't get it any more, I went to Tetenal's E-6 kit (So called 3-bath, but actually it's 7-bath when including all the washing between each step - not much less than real E-6 with 9 steps).

So far my feelings are mixed. The result's are not exactly what I expect and the Tetenal's documentation is a bit poor.

The resulting slides tend to be on dark side. I would estimate that they will require 0.5 ... 1 stop more exposure.
    I am sure that it's not a exposure issue. It's more the issue with either temperature, developing time or agitation.

All my thermometers shows bit different values. The temperature I adapted was around the average value (and very near of the temperature shown by two medical thermometers). I set my water bath thermostat for that, so the whole process is done at the temperature 38 (+0.3 / -0.2) degree Celsius.

Current process is:
    • temperature 38 deg. Celsius (based on medical thermometers)
    • 2..3 minute pre-heating
    • 7:00 time first developing (I started from 6:30).
    • wash, Color dev, wash, blix, wash, stab.

What route should I choose next:
    • Should I go for longer developing times? If so, how long can I go with Tetenal - Kodak suggest maximum 8:30 time, which is barely enough to difference for being equal to + 0.75 stop exposure.