Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,808   Posts: 1,581,502   Online: 1076

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    8x10 Format

RA-4 Starter and temperature tests

While running a different test of materials, I concurrently ran a test of RA-4 control strips at varying temperatures as published by Kodak in the Color Darkroom Dataguide. While running these tests I noticed my strips coming out too red, I called Kodak and discussed it with them and they suggested I try adding the Starter for RA-4 RT Developer/Replenisher. I have never used it with my RA-4 before, but I had also never ran control strips before, so I thought I would try it and see. I immediately noticed a difference and an elimination of the red cast. I also tried using the RA-4 RT at 75° F (23.8°C) to see if it would work. I found it to be too weak in the D-max, but I only used a 2 minute development time. When time permits, I may try it again for 3 minutes to see if it plots better. I am including a Y-55 chart of each temperature with and without the starter. Each column represents one combination of variables. The Alt. Process column at the end refers to the other test I was performing.

The temperatures and times tested were:

75° F (23.8°C) for 2 minutes
    83° F (28.3° C) for 2 minutes
    88° F (31.1°C) for 1.5 minutes
    94° F (34.4° C) for 1 minute
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails RA-4 Control Strip 01.jpg   Y-55 RA-4.jpg   RA-4 Control Strip 02.jpg   RA-4 Control Strip 03.jpg   RA-4 Control Strip 04.jpg  

RA-4 Control Strip 05.jpg   RA-4 Control Strip 06.jpg   RA-4 Control Strip 07.jpg  
    www.gregorytdavis.com

Did millions of people suddenly disappear? This may have an answer.

"No one knows that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father." -Matthew 24:36

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images