Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,271   Posts: 1,534,503   Online: 1062

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Removing Rem-Jet for ECN-II films and Kodachrome

Hi all,

First off let me say that I have no experience with rem-jet personally, but I've been talking with Photo Researcher (not to be confused with Photo Engineer) who is a former Kodak employee working on a home-made Kodachrome. He shared the following about removing rem-jet, which he does when he home processes Kodachrome.

First off, rem-jet is an excellent anti-halation layer that is ideal for motion picture for a number of reasons. For one, the carbon black used as the black pigment is an excellent conductor of static electricity and thus it dissipates this better than any other AH layer. Also, since it is removed in processing (rem-jet means removable by water jet) there is no concern for scratches that might've been accumulated in camera transport; a bonus for motion picture cameras that feed hundreds of feet of film in a few minutes.

Rem-jet is a dispersion of carbon black pigment (lamp black) in cellulose acetate phthalate.

Historically (before 2000ish) the process for removing rem-jet in commercial processors has gone something like this.

PRE-BATH: A short, 30 second, pre-bath (PB2). This includes about 100g/L of sodium sulfate and some amount(?) of borax, with sodium-hydroxide to reach a target pH of 9.2 (this # was given from memory and has the potential to be incorrect, but let's assume it's right). The sodium-sulfate serves a unique purpose; it prevents premature hydrolysis of the rem-jet layer, while the high alkalinity of borax/NaOH destabilizes the cellulose polymer. If the RJ hydrolized in this step, there would be danger of particles making their way to the emulsion side.