Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,518   Posts: 1,543,756   Online: 838

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Thermometer for Color Processing?

Can anyone provide a suggestion on a good thermometer for use in color film development? I have been doing black and white for 30 years and just starting to explore doing my own E-6 at home. I know temperature control and accuracy is critical so I wanted to make sure I got a good thermometer.

Thanks

Shooter
    Medium Format
    The Kodak Process Thermometer was the best. Accurate to 1/8 degree, but they're not made anymore, discontinued years ago because it was a mercury thermometer. Scientific supply companies still sell highly accurate mercury thermometers.
    Chris Crawford
    Fine Art Photography of Indiana and other places no one else photographs.

http://www.chriscrawfordphoto.com

My Tested Developing Times with the films and developers I use

Become a fan of my work on Facebook

Fort Wayne, Indiana

Shooter
    Multi Format
    For several years when I was processing color reversal film I used an ordinary mercury lab thermometer. Never had any problem either with density or color balance.
    A rock pile ceases to be a rock pile the moment a single man contemplates it, bearing within him the image of a cathedral.

~Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by largeformat65 View Post
    Can anyone provide a suggestion on a good thermometer for use in color film development?
    Gerald mentions lab thermometers. Have a look at these affordable, general purpose, non-mercury lab therometers offered by ICL Calibration Laboratories, Inc. (Note that they are affordable because they are not formally calibrated and certified.)

Ken