Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,663   Posts: 1,481,655   Online: 801

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: C41 Recipe

Shooter
    35mm

C41 Recipe

Hi,
    I'm getting closer to mixing my own C41 recipe and trying a DIY process for the first time.
    While I'm learning a lot and I have experience with B&W chemicals, I'm basically a beginner.
    In the recipe below I've managed to source everything except for Hydroxylamine Sulphate.
    I'm wondering if some of you knowledgeable folk here can tell me if there is anything else I could substitute or source that would serve the same purpose?

Edit: I can't find CD4 either....so question applies to this as well

C41 Recipe:
    Color developer
    Potassium carbonate 64.0 g
    Sodium sulfite, anhydrous 7.0 g
    Potassium bromide 3.0 g
    Hydroxylamine sulfate 4.0 g
    CD4 10.0 g
    Water to 2.0 L

Stop bath

Acetic acid, 5% 400 ml
    Water to 2.0 L

Bleach

Potassium ferricyanide 160 g
    Potassium Bromide 40 g
    Water to 2.0 L

Fixer
    Ammonium Thiosulfate, 60% 240 mL
    EDTA 2 g
    Sodium Bisulfite 24 g
    Sodium Hydroxide 5 g
    Water to 2.0 L

Thanks.
    Peter
    Last edited by HumbleP; 11-08-2012 at 07:29 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Well, sources depend on where in the world are you? Update your profile with at least your country for better answers.
    Bob

Shooter
    Multi Format
    There is no substitute for the hydroxylamine sulfate nor can you leave it out. It is howwever a common chemical and should be available. The IUPAC name is hydroxyazanium sulfate, CAS number 10039-54-0

Color Developing Agent (CD 4) 4-(N-Ethyl-N-2-hydroxyethyl)-2-methylphenylenediamine sulfate CAS number 25646-77-9

The problem may be in obtaining small amounts of these chemicals.